After 22 Years…I Got Back On That Horse

skiing#33 Today I put downhill skis on for the first time in 22 years. The last time I shoop shooped down a ski hill I ended up being carried down by a (very cute) ski patroller on a sled. If you’ve ever seen someone being pulled down a hill on the sled and thought, that looks like so much fun!, it’s not. The only reason one gets dragged down in one is because they’re injured. Pull an injured person downhill over hills and bumps, it’s unbelievably painful.

So two surgeries later for a torn-to-shreds ACL (anterior cruciate ligament – in other words *#&%#@! painful knee injury), I just could not face getting back on that ski hill. I had no desire whatsoever. Perhaps I’m far too wimpy for my own good, but it definitely scared me off the hill for many years. Then when I began to entertain the idea of getting back to it, I just couldn’t afford it.

But today I went back. I did it. I got on those skis, the chairlift scooped me up and delivered me safely to the top of the (baby) hill and I proceeded to snowplow my way down. What I didn’t expect was that it all came back to me. Before I knew it, I was past snowplow and shoop shooping my way down. I tried a slightly bigger hill. And then a bigger one still.

A friend joined me who also hasn’t been on skis in 20 years and we both did amazingly well. So although I don’t have any crazy drama to report, I can definitely say that I am proud, exhausted and soon-to-be sore. Thank goodness for baths and wine.

ski

Fortunately, this was NOT me today!

Image credits: leks / 123RF Stock Photo

gudella / 123RF Stock Photo

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to After 22 Years…I Got Back On That Horse

  1. Tanya says:

    Good for you Erin!! So glad you’re still in one piece.

  2. Bailey says:

    Bravo! well done! it will be good training for your cross country skiing too!

Shake some words out on the page

