#26 – Making it down a hill on cross-country skis without wiping out

This might not be a big deal for some but it’s a huge deal for me. I’m not a cross-country skiing expert (far from it) but I’ve been doing it since I was a kid. It’s kind of like swimming for me – I quite enjoy it, I can get along but never had any formal training and my technique is, well, I have no technique. I just ski. But that also means that when I have to get from the top of a hill to the bottom, there’s a bit of praying that I reach the bottom without breaking anything that goes on before that final push.

I’m fortunate enough to have groomed trails outside my door where I can ski through the fields and forests with my dogs running alongside me.

On one recent ski, I came upon this embarrassingly small downhill leading to a curve. Every time I try this hill, I land in a pile of arms, legs and skis. This time was no exception.

But then I came to the final hill – a much bigger one – and was determined to figure out a way to get down without a crash landing and I figured it out! I knelt down on one knee and used my hands for balance. I glided down the entire way with elegance and class. For a moment, I worried I might land in the creek at the bottom of the hill, but fortunately, I did no such thing. Instead, I slowed to a stop without so much as a wobble. This technique is probably non-existant in the skiing world, but it worked for me and I can’t wait to try it again.

 

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #26 – Making it down a hill on cross-country skis without wiping out

  1. Sharyon says:

    Hey Erin – I don’t think there is anything you cannot conquer!!!!

Shake some words out on the page

