#21 – Climbing a Tower

This was cool. A friend of mine has access to a couple of towers that are used for internet signals. He invited me to climb one as a challenge for my blog. So a few weeks ago, he scooped me up and we went on this little climbing adventure. I had no idea what to expect. I figured it would be a fun little outing. And I always enjoy his company so no matter what, it would be a great morning.

It was a beautiful Saturday morning and we drove along some country roads I didn’t know existed. Once we arrived at our destination, we had to hike up a hill through deep woods. I have been dealing with an injured foot for many months but a couple of months of physio has helped get me to the point where I was able to manage such a hike with little pain. (Yay!)

When we arrived at the top of the hill, I just marveled at the view. We were overlooking a gorgeous lake and a view of the Gatineau Hills I rarely get to see.

IMG_1711Then came time to climb the tower. Though it wasn’t a super high tower (thank goodness – not sure I’d be ready for one of those), I was fitted with the proper climbing equipment. It’s a long way to a hospital from where we were, should someone crack a skull or something. This is a picture of my friend climbing the tower:

IMG_1715I survived the climb and even surprised my friend who thought I might freak out a little at some point. I was more freaked out by the wasps’ nest we met on the tower. Fortunately, no stings. I freaked out for nothing.

But one other cool thing that happened on our adventure was that I picked wild blueberries for the first time in my life! The rock around the tower was crawling with wild blueberry plants…and they were even ready to be picked.

IMG_1712And I even had the patience to pick a whole handful!

IMG_1723Overall, it was a really fun day and something I never would have done had my friend not suggested it and given up his day to take me on the excursion. Thank you!

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #21 – Climbing a Tower

  1. Elsie says:

    Sounds like a great day! Where was this place?…sort of…

Shake some words out on the page

