Blond Moment #4359

fireWe’ve all seen this familiar sign. And assuming you’re literate and speak at least one of Canada’s official languages, it’s fairly self-explanatory.

But then there’s this blond one. I left friends at a restaurant table to go to the washroom. On my way back from the depths of the labyrinth-like basement, I reached the top of the stairs and saw two doors: One regular wooden door to my left and one bearing this very large sign to my right. I seemed to have had it in my head that when I reached the top of the stairs, I was to turn right to go back into the restaurant.

I mildly noticed the sign, yet instead of paying attention to the fact that a FIRE ALARM WILL SOUND if I open that door, all it does is remind me of the fact that we had a fire alarm at work today and so I started to make a mental note to tell my friend Sharyon about the excitement of it when I arrive back at the table. Only that thought was rudely interrupted by a terribly loud and shrill noise as I pushed the door open. And it was only as I started to step outside when I put the sign, the door and the alarm altogether in one nifty little brain cell to make sense. I quickly let go and shot through the other door into the restaurant, all eyes on me, alarm still blaring. It was the most perfect kill me now moment.

When I landed back at my table, the room went silent and then Tabitha said to me jokingly, “Was that you?”  I could hardly speak, my face was so scrunched with embarrassment and laughter. I think she asked me three times because she didn’t believe me when I said yes each time. Fortunately, we had already paid. As the two ladies rose to put their jackets on and gather their umbrellas, I had already pulled a roadrunner and raced outside. I think I may have left an Erin-shaped hole in the wall.

Sharyon and Tabitha outside Chez Lucien

Sharyon and Tabitha outside Chez Lucien

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blond Moment #4359

  1. Elsie says:

    THAT’S MY GIRL!!! LOVE YOU SOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!

Shake some words out on the page

