#17 – Livin’ It Up

In the last 2 months, I have traveled a couple of times for work. I have never had to travel for work before. (Granted, one of those “trips” was just 40 minutes away, but I still had to stay at the hotel for the length of the conference I helped organize.) Though traveling is part of my job, it’s only a few times a year. My mother used to travel weekly and I know it can take its toll – it takes a lot of energy to live out of a suitcase. I welcome this opportunity but I’ll be honest…I’m glad I’m not hopping planes every week or even every month.

As an organizer of these events, I have gotten free room upgrades and found myself in some seriously luxurious digs:

Fireplace in my hotel room

Fireplace in my hotel room in Alberta.

The view out of my window in Alberta.

The view out of my hotel window in Alberta.

In fact, I left a tip and thank you note for the room attendant who took care of my room when I was in Alberta. Then I met him in the hall – his name was Albert. Very sweet man. On my last night there, I came into my room to be greeted by this note:

Note

And sitting in the window of the 16th floor of my hotel room in Gatineau last week, I marveled at the view over the nation’s capital:

View of Ottawa/Gatineau from the 26th floor.

View of Ottawa/Gatineau from the 16th floor.

One evening during the recent conference, my colleague Tabitha and I went swimming in one of the best pools I have ever experienced. It was a heated outdoor pool. Heated. Outside. It may be April, but it is still Canada and we are still a couple of months away from being able to swim in lakes and outdoor pools. So when I discovered I could swim outside on April 17th, it was certainly happy dance time.

I am told all the time how good swimming is for you. But swimming is like mushrooms for me  – much better warm than cold.

The heated outdoor pool and hot tub at the Hilton Lac Leamy in Gatineau. (Photo taken from their website.)

The heated outdoor pool and hot tub at the Hilton Lac Leamy in Gatineau. (Photo taken from their website.)

After the best April swim I’ve ever had, I retreated to my room where I threw my PJs on, then headed down 3 flights of steps to Tabitha’s room (the stairwells were next to our rooms – I would not have headed into the hotel/elevator wearing my PJs!).  We ordered pizza and watched Entertainment Tonight, then I headed back to my own little haven where I could enjoy the rest of the quiet evening. Shortly after arriving back in my room, I received a text from Tabitha: “You left here sans shoes. Didja notice that?”

I hadn’t. Minor blonde moment.

Overall, this traveling-for-work thing is good. Changes things up. I miss my son, my cats and my dogs so I’m always happy to go home. But in the mean time, the best thing about fancy hotel rooms? Fancy bathtubs!

Bath time!

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #17 – Livin’ It Up

  1. Tanya says:

    How awesome can you get? All the hard work is paying off baby – and you sooooo deserve it!

    • Bailey Murdoch says:

      This is one of my favourite posts so far! I love it! Sounds like you and Tabitha know how to enjoy a hotel!

      • Erin Kuhns says:

        Thanks, Bails! It was a great week and yes, we DO know how to enjoy a hotel. I’m already scheming as to how I can break in and swim in that luxurious hotel after hours…(Hahahaha – sooooo just kidding…)

    • Erin Kuhns says:

      You’re too sweet. It’s been hard work, for sure. But it was a great week.

Shake some words out on the page

