#9 – A Neighbourhood Christmas Party

party snowFor the last 5 or 6 years, I have been trying to make my way over to the annual Boxing Day Christmas party my friends throw down the road. And each of those years, something has come up – I’ve been sick; had our family dinner going on that day; or, as has happened a time or two, I just wasn’t quite in the mood for a party.

This year, Boxing Day hit and, as had been on my calendar for 2 months, it was time for the party. I’ll be honest…the majority of me was really looking forward to going, but there was a part of me that would have been content to have stayed in my PJs, sipped on wine, kept my injured foot up, and watched a movie. Instead, I got showered and dressed, grabbed a bottle of non-alcoholic sparkling something-or-other that I had in my cabinet, hobbled to the car, and headed down the road to the famous Boxing Day party. I had planned to pick up a bottle of wine at the store on the way, however the store was closed so I instead only showed up the non-alcoholic stuff. My friend Nadine (the hostess) started to open it for me but I stopped her and I put my cards on the table: “Um, I know I brought this, but the store was closed and, well, I’d much prefer a glass of wine.” She  laughed, possibly rolled her eyes, but poured me a glass of wine just the same. God, I love that woman!

The party was awesome. I ran into some people I hadn’t seen in awhile, met a few new people, learned some cool things about some other people, and even cleared the air with someone with whom the air was not terribly clear for awhile.

Now, I had been looking forward to this party, but at the same time, I know how easily I could have convinced myself not to go – my foot was sore, I was cozy in my PJs and not even feeling particularly festive when I left. However, this Stepping Out of the Woods project really did help me make sure I didn’t fall under the spell of comfy jammies and a hypnotic television. I may be slightly behind in my challenges but I know I’m just getting started. I will have to find some creative, not-so-foot-utilizing challenges over the course of the next few weeks, but I’m sure I can dig through my list and find some things to do!

I am, of course, always welcoming new ideas, so if you have some–even if they’re totally nuts or not quite nuts enough, include them in a comment below and I will add them to my Hit List page.

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Food & Drink, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Shake some words out on the page

