Top 5 While Doing a Detox: The good, the bad and the ugly

Top 5 things to avoid while taking part in a detox:

  1. Movies. The scent of movie theatre popcorn is hard to resist. That snack popped with a questionable coating with more salt than the ocean has a quality to it like nothing else. The best remedy? Do not go see a movie while doing a detox. However, I took my son to see Ice Age tonight and didn’t steal even one single kernel. Instead, I bought an overpriced bottle of water and I am happy to report I managed to make it through the movie without too much drooling.
  2. Food channel. No explanation needed.
  3. Peer pressure. I haven’t come across this yet – if anything, my co-worker and friends have been extremely supportive.
  4. Bowls of chocolate and candy floating around work. Late this afternoon was the first time it was a little bit tempting.
  5. Burger joints. Have you set foot in the burger joint, Five Guys? They have burgers and fries some people might actually kill for. Fortunately, the detox should help curb those ideations (lol). But I brought my son there tonight because it’s his favourite and he had a fairly horrible day so I put up with the gorgeous, delicious smells that almost satisfied me, then I sat in my car and scarfed down some leftover rice salad (which was genuinely delicious)…left Five Guys in my dust!

The top 5 things that are manageable during a detox:

  1. Discovering my colleague is doing a detox at the same time – totally coincidental. It’s nice to have someone close by who is dealing with the same challenge. However, hers is a different kind and involves nutritious shakes and even a bit of fasting. Definitely glad I’m on the Wild Rose detox – a lot more doable, in my eyes.
  2. You are forced to get creative in cooking with a limited list of foods. I like to cook, so this is a positive thing.
  3. Having a blog on which I can give updates from time to time – that accountability doesn’t hurt.
  4. I’ve been gearing myself up for this detox for weeks so it is remarkably more manageable when you are mentally ready for it.
  5. I’m discovering new herbal teas – something I can have as much of as I’d like.

If you are contemplating some kind of detox, I do recommend it, as long as you are ready for it and very organized. It is a major out-of-comfort zone thing but the results will definitely be worth it. Still, when a poutine hops into my brain from time to time, it’s like my little devil sitting on my shoulder. But he’s small and annoying and I just flick him away and it’s all good.

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Wild Rose D-Tox. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top 5 While Doing a Detox: The good, the bad and the ugly

  1. Barbara Scott says:

    I’m impressed … your description of the burgers and fries made me want to head out and indulge … not sure I could have noshed away on my rice salad!

  2. Erin Kuhns says:

    Believe me – under normal circumstances, I don’t think I would have had the willpower, but my desire not to kill the effects of this detox actually outweigh my desire for junk food (but just by a hair sometimes…).

Shake some words out on the page

