On your marks…

We are in the thick of November…the common greyness of November is especially apparent today. I have even let the dogs in (which completely spoils them, as they are, technically, outdoor dogs) and they are draped like sloths on the love seat and floor.

I have spent the past couple of weeks brainstorming, discussing and thinking about this challenge I’m about to begin.  When I think about doing 100 new, out-of-routine things over the course of the next year, I get excited…but then also a bit nervous. I know myself well enough to know that if I didn’t blog about my journey, I would likely not keep up with the challenge. I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing…or if it even matters.

I have not officially started it yet because:

a) I have been spending time getting the blog set up and learning how to use WordPress so that I wouldn’t have to worry about those little details once the challenge has begun.
b) I’ve been working on a list of ideas so that I can have a starting point, as well as a bit of a plan. I’m always open to spontaneity (and I am sure there will be plenty of that) but having a plan is a good first step, I think.
c) I just started a new job this week so I felt it necessary to take a bit of time to settle in, get used to my new routine of getting up early and commuting before embarking on adding things to shake up my life a bit.
d) I know that once I take that first step, I am fully committed. (Gulp.) It’s kind of like when  you’re not quite ready to get out of bed in the morning…just 5 more minutes…

But I’m almost there. I feel fairly satisfied with getting my blog set up and I’m almost ready to share it with some friends.

A brief peek into the first of my 100 new things? Nope. Not sure what it is yet. I am going out dancing tonight, which is definitely out of my routine, however I don’t feel it counts, seeing as how I have been dancing once already this year. I am certain I’ll likely contradict myself down the line when I decide to do something that is out of my routine but maybe close to something I’ve done in the recent past, but I won’t worry about that now.

One thing is that I really want people to take a moment to offer their ideas. I have come up with quite a list for myself but I know that for every idea I have, there are a thousand others I haven’t thought of. So throw an idea at me through a comment or on my contact page and I’ll add it to my Hit List (which is empty at the moment…I want it to be a list built mostly from others’ ideas).

Thank you and, um, wish me luck!

About Erin Kuhns

Stepping out of the woods and out of my comfort zone. One year...one hundred new things to ensure I don't spend another year sitting in the armchair of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On your marks…

  1. Barbara Scott says:

    Good Luck, Erin. You have already done something new … you have become acquainted with WordPress. How about driving somewhere you have never been … alone … with just a camera and a notebook … with the intention of making something creative afterwards ? Naturally something original 🙂

Shake some words out on the page

